Pinback – AFK

Once again I have chosen a song not released in 2011 as the link to my best of 2011. I’m compiling (with a little help from my friends) a list of songs that are worthy of a slot on the best of 2011 list, so I’ve decided to shove a few in here and there where I can. I’m pretty sure “AFK” would’ve made my best of list for the year it was released, so I’ve grouped it in with a number of songs that have similar characteristics- well as similar as I can make them in my own mind. I’ve always had a bit of trouble trying to identify or specify distinguishing characteristics of artists that fall under the giant yellow umbrella that is “indie-rock”. For some reason the label Indie always conjures images of 8-track cassette recordings with xeroxed cover art folded into the case. While indie-rock is not quite mainstream, it has permeated into all areas of our lives, from Levi commercials to Starbucks counter-tops. The spectrum of “indie-rock” is much wider than even I want to consider trying to categorize, so I will just say, there is a shit-ton of music I consider to be indie-rock, and here is some of it. . . Pinback – AFK, the show
~77 minutes

Playlist:

Pinback – AFK 

Mister Heavenly – Bronx Sniper 

Wilco – Art of Almost

Gregg Allman – I Can’t Be Satisfied

White Denim – Is and Is and Is; At The Farm; Drug

Random Song of the Show:

GoblinCock –  Stumped

Stuff to check out:

Pascal’s band: Angel Island

very cool video Mister Heavenly – Bronx Sniper

2 thoughts on “Pinback – AFK”

  1. Good show. Second one I have listened to (Tom Waits the first) and I will be checking them out in the future. The Pinback sounds a little Jane’s Addiction influenced. I forgot how good the White Denim record was…I really liked it.

    1. yeah, good call. i had originally thought of including a track or two off of the latest from The Joy Formidable, which would’ve emphasized that connection. I haven’t heard the latest Jane’s Addiction album, but “three days” or “obvious” would’ve been good choices for this show; or perhaps current affairs would dictate “1%” :D

Leave a Reply

